Unsafe at any speed

“People like to be told what they already know.  Remember that.  They get uncomfortable when you tell them new things.  New things…well, new things aren’t what they expect.  They like to know that, say, a dog will bite a man.  That is what dogs do.  They don’t want to know that a man bites a dog, because the world is not supposed to happen like that.  In short, what people think they want is news, but what they really crave is olds.”

– Lord Ventinari “The Truth” (Terry Pratchett)

In case you haven’t had a chance to raise your blood pressure over some idiocy today, take a look at this video clip from one of those daytime advice doctor TV shows.

What struck me about this clip was the dismissive and derisive demeanor of the doctor. I’m not sure what the host was expecting (did you notice the bunch of bananas on the podium?), but it was quite obvious that the doctor came prepared not to educate the studio audience, but to entertain them by telling them something that they already knew: kinky things are bad, shameful, and silly.

I’m imagining not just the person that wrote in, but the hundreds of people watching who might otherwise have had some interest in exploring their sexuality, and in dabbling a little in control, denial, domination, or something just a little bit different. Instead of discussing anything about that kink, the doctor chose to deride it as something foolish, with no actual explanation as to why. His brief allusion to the male hydraulics certainly has not been upheld by the thousands of men who actually use these devices on a daily basis, so except for the opportunity to rant about his exceptionally vanilla opinion, what was the purpose of him being on the show? Oh, that’s right — the target audience was middle-aged housewives. The purpose was to tell them just what they suspected; that kinky things are dangerous and unnatural.

Okay, I’ve had my little rant. I feel better now. Thanks for listening.


Well, at least there’s one woman who doesn’t care what some TV doctor has to say.

Overly Attached Keyholder

10 thoughts on “Unsafe at any speed

  1. Leave it to mainstream daytime TV to discredit legitimate lifestyles that are healthier to people like us than the alternative. Also on a different note, I was trying to submit one of my blogs to keyheld, and the directions tell me I can find this on the about page sidebar…. I am having trouble finding this. Can you assist me? I would like to submit my blog titled ” Submitting to my wife” that highlights my journey in submission to my wife Miss Jessica and her dominance and denial over me. Thanks in advance for any assistance.

  2. Yeah, saw that a few months ago. Clearly another case of not bothering to think about something or learn about it… too desperate for attention for all that!

    BTW, love the meme :)

    • He started off bad, and it just went downhill. Interestingly, over the last few years when people ask about this in other medical forums, I’ve never seen any doctor talk about the danger in keeping it confined.

      Oh, and Overly Attached Keyholder liked your compliment.

  3. I have to agree with you on this one! having used several different chastity devices before, and in all kinds of “conditions” from sitting around doing nothing to being sexually teased by the wife until I thought the cage was going to burst. I have to admit, when I am not wearing it, everything seems to works as well as it always did. I feel no ill effects. I think it just shows how afraid people are of the truth… Sex it fun and so are the many toys designed to enhance it!

  4. +1 for the Terry Pratchett reference. Love his stuff.

    Minus several million for the idiotic ‘doctor’ going for cheap laughs rather than actually performing some useful function. Although I did like the fact he felt the need to wear a white coat in order to mark himself as a doctor. I also enjoyed the weird graphic titled ‘Male Arousal’ that featured just a waist up shot of a crude male shape with odd radiating red lines across it. Only on daytime tv would that be considered useful or informative in some way.

    -paltego

Talk to me!

