Free the Gluten!

For the seventeen readers that I still have left who vaguely remember when this was a sex oriented blog, well, this post will be yet another disappointment. For those of you who are hedonists of the culinary type, though, it’s another post about holiday cookies.

I spent a year or so without eating gluten (wheat, bread, pasta, cake, pie, most grains, donuts, cookies, etc.). It didn’t help my particular problems, but I discovered that there are a lot of good recipes out there for people who really need to abstain. Here’s a favorite from Alton Brown:

Gluten Free Chewy Chocolate Chip cookies
Ingredients
8 ounces unsalted butter
11 ounces brown rice flour, approximately 2 cups
1 1/4 ounces cornstarch, approximately 1/4 cup
1/2-ounce tapioca flour, approximately 2 tablespoons
1 teaspoon xanthan gum
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
2 ounces sugar, approximately 1/4 cup
10 ounces light brown sugar, approximately 1 1/4 cups
1 whole egg
1 egg yolk
2 tablespoons whole milk
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
12 ounces semisweet chocolate chips

Directions

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.

Melt the butter in a heavy-bottom medium saucepan over low heat. Once melted, pour into the bowl of a stand mixer.

In a medium bowl, sift together the rice flour, cornstarch, tapioca flour, xantham gum, salt and baking soda. Set aside.

Add both of the sugars to the bowl with the butter and using the paddle attachment, cream together on medium speed for 1 minute. Add the whole egg, egg yolk, milk and vanilla extract and mix until well combined. Slowly incorporate the flour mixture until thoroughly combined. Add the chocolate chips and stir to combine.

Chill the dough in the refrigerator until firm, approximately 1 hour. Shape the dough into 2-ounce balls and place on parchment-lined baking sheets, 6 cookies per sheet. Bake for 14 minutes, rotating the pans after 7 minutes for even baking. Remove from the oven and cool the cookies on the pans for 2 minutes. Move the cookies to a wire rack and cool completely. Store cooked cookies in an airtight container.

Per cookie: Calories: 251; Total Fat: 13 grams; Saturated Fat: 7.5 grams; Protein: 2 grams; Total carbohydrates: 35 grams; Sugar: 22 grams; Fiber: 2 grams; Cholesterol: 38 milligrams; Sodium: 143 milligrams

And wash them down with some gluten free almond milk when you’re ready. Seriously, you could stack these up against “regular” chocolate chips and they’d be just as delicious.

More cookie recipes can be found at Jz’s place. Or, see the list of bloggers below:

Angelina
Ashly
Beatrice
Beth
Bleu Ame
Cat
Del Fonte
Fiona
Hedone
Just Chickie
Jz
lil
little monkey
Misty
nilla
Penelope Hasler
ronnie
rose
Ryan Beaumont
Sarah
Sassy
Sillyone
sin
sofia
Terpsichore
Tom


Here’s something else to get you into the holiday spirit:
Bianca Beauchamp

~ by Tom Allen on December 5, 2013.

15 Responses to “Free the Gluten!”

  1. love the title!
    love Alton Brown…
    love you, Tom. ;-*

    These sound terrific — and I’m pretty sure Bianca wants you to make some for her…
    just sayin’…

    Thanks for playing along again!

  2. Oooh! I’m so happy someone posted a gluten-free recipe! Thank-you.
    I find its always hit or miss with the gluten free desserts and love discovering recipes that have been well sourced. Thanks for sharing :)

  3. Thanks. Never tired a chewy chocolate chip cookie.

    Love,
    Ronnie
    xx

  4. thanks for sharing…went gluten free for a while too…I may need to try this :-)

    • I’ve had some IBS issues, so I tried gluten free to see if that would help. It didn’t, but a lot of the foods that I made were surprisingly delicious. I also have a gluten-free brownie recipe that’s an absolute killer. We’ve served them to people without telling them that they are gluten-free, and we never have any leftovers.

      The cookies, though, are worth the trouble. I want to try them with almond flour.

  5. Alton Brown is a fat-hating dickbag, but if you say these cookies are that good, I need to try them! since I’m supposed to be abstaining from gluten for the sake of my gallbladder.

    • I’m going to show how uncool I am by confessing that I’m pretty much completely unaware of just about all of those TV chefs. I don’t watch those shows; partly because I just don’t eat those things, and partly because I just don’t find TV cooking to be very interesting. Although I do confess that I had a crush on Nigella Lawson, but it really doesn’t anything to do with her cooking.

      Mrs. Edge had her gallbladder out last year, and we have found that she has to cut back on certain fats. I hadn’t heard about a gluten/gallbladder connection, though. How does it affect you?

      • I don’t have my gallbladder out, it’s just unhealthy.. It’s not gluten per se that I need to avoid, but I’ve read that limiting processed carbohydrates can keep down the concentration of cholesterol in the bile. Plus, eating fresh, organic, whole food as much as possible avoids pesticides and herbicides used in commercially produced products that causes extra burden on the liver and therefore, the gallbladder. So yeah, it’s not really wheat that’s a problem for me, but avoiding it is an easy way of eating more properly for my body.

  6. I think you should look after your seventeen loyal fans . Recipes on the Net are ten a penny but a quality sex blog is worth following

  7. Thanks so much for sharing Tom! My oldest DIL is gluten intolerant and has been looking for a good chocolate chip cookie recipe…will definitely send this to her! ;)

    Blessings…
    Cat

    • I’m not much of a baker, so I haven’t tried this with alternates, but I think that almond flour might add a little something to this.

      Also, there’s a link in the post to my gluten free ginger snaps from last year. Those are good because they’re not too fatty/rich, if you know what I mean.

  8. Who knew? Santa’s helpers wear latex ;-)

Talk to me!

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,014 other followers

