I’m a Fetishist!

Okay, I admit to being a bit of a link whore – almost as much as I’m a comment whore. But for the most part, I’m less concerned with others linking to me as I am with discovering new and different blogs to read. A quick perusal of my blogroll shows that I’m adding blogs that fit into several categories. While most of them deal with “alternative sexuality, ” and more specifically in the D/s genre, I also read a lot of others in what I call “Marrige & Relationships.” While most of them seem to be blogs that detail problems in relationships, once in a while I come across blogs that showcase some of the more positive aspects. To that end, I’ve linked “Over 40 Married Sex” (how could you not love a title like that?) and “Crash’s Sex Story Spot,” both of which being examples of happy, married sexuality.

Since I tend to think of this blog as an exploration of sexual and emotional intimacy, it was surprisng to see someone showcase me as a “fetishist.” Kimba has a funny blog… or rather, she tells funny stories about dating and her other relationships. Apparently she linked here to give her own readers something interesting to read (and for many of us, this is praise indeed!). But this quote from her cracks me up:

I have just seen my blog, blogrolled on a fetishist site.. I can’t tell you how hysterical and intimidated I am at the same time..

So now I’m wondering – when the hell did I become a “fetishist“? Was it when I bought those knee-high black leather boots for my wife? Was it when I insisted on having sex wearing a corset? Was it when I discovered that yak butter makes a great personal lubricant? Or was it when I had my manacles monogrammed? Or maybe it was when I asked Santa to bring me a vibrating, inflatable butt plug for Christmas…

About Tom Allen

The Grey Geezer Dauntless defender of, um, something that needed dauntless defending. Dammit, I can't read this script without my glasses. Hey, you kids, get off my damn lawn!
This entry was posted in BDSM, Blogs, D/s, kink. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to I’m a Fetishist!

  1. Crash says:

    Tom – Thank you kindly for the comment, and for the compliment! We’ve both enjoyed reading Edge of Vanilla, particularly the Friday Fantasies. Very interesting reading indeed.

    Happy New Year to you! Be safe and well.

  2. kimba says:

    Tom.. I think it was when you bought the yak butter..

    I am glad you are laughing, and not about to sue me for defamation! I have ‘modified’ my post a bit so readers now will look at your comment for clarification on your site. It’s just.. well.. I live a very sheltered life down here..it doesn’t take much to make me blush..

    Also I am a new blogger, prone to getting the arse end of the stick from time to time as far as blog etiquette goes..

  3. elise says:

    hahaha. . .an inflatable butt plug?

  4. Tom Allen says:

    Elise – Did you miss
    this post?
    There’s a link at the beginning which explains it all.

    Kimba – Welcome to The Edge of Vanilla! I was as amused to see your post about my blog as you were to see your own link from here 😉

    I’m not upset about the “fetishist” remark – I honestly thought it was funny. Ironically funny, in fact, because I belong in that little sub-genre of bloggers who’s not a full-blown BDSMer – as has been pointed out to me in the past.

    Your blog posts do not indicate that you are all that sheltered down in Oz. And do not worry about what the other people tell you about “etiquette.” As long as you’re not hurting anyone – and as long as your posts are interesting – then it’s all good!

  5. Cat says:

    The inflatable butt plug did it, definitely…

  6. Elise says:

    Okay, I read the post. Damn! That’s really interesting! I think I’d enjoy being the perpetrator of such activity.

  7. 2amsomewhere says:

    I always thought fetishism entailed fixation on a particular item or activity that was needed to achieve sexual arousal.

    The things you enumerate in your post are more indicators of sexual connoiseurship. If I had to guess, none of these items are necessary for you to have a satisfying experience, but you know that they can make things more enjoyable.

    Drawing a parallel to food, a fetishist might be someone whose idea of a satisfying meal involves going to the White Castle and goes there every time he wants to eat. You sound more like a gourmet who favors exotic ingredients.

  8. kimba says:

    Alright.. If I had posted on my blog..”I have been blogrolled by “a gourmet who favors exotic ingredients” that wouldn’t have been funny at all really would it?

    Tom, in my defense – I am blogrolled under ‘The Fetish Explorer’.. kind of ‘association by proximity’…yes..? ..no? OK maybe it was just I had a ‘boy look’ at this site and picked out the saucy words and not a ‘girl look’ at the content and the emotion of the posts..

    On the upside – I have been enjoying coming over here in the last couple of days to visit.. quite a bit more than I should I think..

  9. Tom Allen says:

    Elise – every once in a while, I run into something that I’d never thought of before, but which – for reasons known only to Eris – really grab my attention. That’s kind of how I ended with a frenum piercing. Or how I ended up being interested in OD. Or more recently, why I’ve spent the last three weeks obsessed with that video.

    Intense, though, wasn’t it?

    2am – personally I agree with you; I tend to think of myself as “sexually creative” rather than out and out “kinky”… but the problem is most other people who know me in real life do tend to think of me as “kinky” – except my wife, who now declines to say anything :-\

    kimba – please don’t change anything on my account. I’ve been having a great laugh over it. Besides, I’ve checked my stats, and I’m getting a lot more traffic from Oz this week. Bonzer! (Do they still say that down there, or is that passe?)

    Anyway, please note that I’ve moved your link to a new category: “Just for Fun”. Which makes me ask – what did you mean by this: “I have been enjoying coming over here in the last couple of days to visit.. quite a bit more than I should I think..”? I mean, other than the vibrating, inflatable butt plugs, I should think that everybody is having a great time here!

  10. kimba says:

    Tom.. stop laughing! Thanks for moving me closer to the lovely Crash.. I feel so cozy there now..

    hmmm – the increase in Oz stats is probably me (Melbourne.. yep – that’s me)… shhhhh don’t tell anyone… *grin*
    A strange thing is that over at my blog – I have been getting hits from people googling ‘breasts’.. making me laugh.. and think should I put up a piccie so they won’t feel disappointed when they open up my page?

    Never – never do we ever say bonzer… never..
    ever..
    stop it.. don’t do it again..

  11. Tom Allen says:

    kimba – there is a restaurant chain here called “Outback.” They are known for their steaks, burgers, etc., served with an Aussie theme. They use a lot of slang/lingo in their menus which I’ve always suspected has been manufactured or hopelessly outdated. For example, back in the 1960s a synonym for “cool” was “boss”. I can imagine going to a “Yank-themed” eatery and hearing such words.

    BTW, some people have this “meme” sort of thing going on in which they post a picture of some part of their body on Thursday. It’s called HNT for “Half Naked Thursday.” So, if you’re thinking aobut posting piccies of breasts, that would be the time.

    I decline to post anything, since the last thing people need is to see any more of me. However, I claim an exemption because I’ve posted pictures of my frenum piercing back when I got it last summer.

  12. Crash says:

    ‘Fetish’ isn’t necessarily synonymous with ‘kink’, the way I see it. My understanding of fetish is more like what 2am describes. Not everyone has a fetish. On the other hand, I’m firmly convinced that everyone has a kink of one kind or other. It’s just that some folks are more open about theirs than others are. The fun is in finding someone you can share yours with.

    I don’t know if it would be a good idea for me to participate in HNT. Not many of my body parts are fit for public consumption. Then again, I doubt that anyone would be looking. These things tend to fly past me like I’m invisible. The most recent example is the ‘5 Things You Don’t Know About Me’ thing … passed me by like I was driving a go-kart at the Indy 500.

    Kimba, I’ll share a cozy space with you anytime! 🙂

  13. MrManicDepressive says:

    Thank you for the link. TW and I appreciate it!

  14. Ms Alice says:

    You shouldn’t pay attention to such comments.
    The “vanillas” think of us who join the D/s lifestyle as pervert,kinky and I don’t know what else.I asure you that things are much more difficult in Greece than in the states.So, My advice:ignore them!

  15. Florian says:

    Hi,
    I found your blog via google by accident and have to admit that youve a really interesting blog 🙂
    Just saved your feed in my reader, have a nice day 🙂

Talk to me!

