Housekeeping and stuff

When I began moving my blog over to WordPress, I had a number of sidebar categories that I had done in HTML that sort of just came over with me in a pretty much undisturbed state; I just copied them and posted the code into the several WP “widget” text boxes. You know, kind of like moving those same damn boxes from place to place every time you move, even though you never go through the damn things to see if they’re worth keeping.

I’ve added some links to the widgets in the last few months, but I pretty much have just left most of the old stuff alone – I’m a “if it’s not broke, then don’t fix it” kind of guy… that is, when I’m not being a “if it’s not broke, then take it apart to see how it works” kind of guy.

WordPress has a great linking feature for your blogroll, and by filing the various links under different categories one can neaten up the blogroll on the sidebar. The management feature makes it pretty easy to rename categories and move links between them without cutting and pasting HTML in a text editor.

Yeah, yeah, I know it’s been a couple of weeks since I’ve posted anything interesting on a Friday, but frankly that last one is still getting an amazing number of hits every day; so I thought that I could, er, coast on my laurels for a bit while I sweep up, tighten a few nuts and bolts, and move some of those old boxes out of the corner and finally start going through them.

About Tom Allen

The Grey Geezer Dauntless defender of, um, something that needed dauntless defending. Dammit, I can't read this script without my glasses. Hey, you kids, get off my damn lawn!
This entry was posted in Blogs, Into the Abyss. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Housekeeping and stuff

  1. kimba says:

    Comment from one of the boxes..
    You have separated Crash and I.. were we being naughty and you had to punish us?

  2. kimba says:

    kimba moves closer to the darkside INDEED!!
    What am I some kind of Tom Allen kink doll? You think you are winning when I talk about a little light spanking from time to time.. fantasies with blindfolds and soft rope..?

    Hmm.. well yes I guess you are winning.. 🙂

  3. Suzy says:

    What’s a Fauxdom and what type of batteries does it
    require?

  4. Cat says:

    Well I see there are perks at the top 🙂 I say coast away.

  5. Tom Allen says:

    Kimba – It’s a bit inconvenient at the moment, but I’m not done moving things around. As someone who changes her blog theme every week, I’m sure you can understand.

    And I don’t know – are you a TA kink doll? I don’t even know what that is. And why are you blaming me? Why don’t you blame Cat, too? She’s not exactly innocent in all this, you know.

    Besides, as long as you’re happy, then we’re all winning!

    Suzy – a fauxdom doesn’t take batteries; it runs on charade power. Eventually it tires of dabbling in areas in which it has no experience and then …

    Oh, wait – maybe I’m thinking of “fauxmissive.” 😉

    Cat – I’m amazed at how much traffic that story has created. Not only is it on the Top 5 of my “hit” list, it’s had as many hits as the next 4 combined.

  6. Serenity says:

    i think i want out of the “marriage and relationships” section. BORING. I haven’t got another suggestion though.

  7. Tom Allen says:

    Serenity – I moved you to “Sexuality & Relationships.” Izzat better for you?

    Yes, we aim to please here at The Edge of Vanilla!

    Kimba – I see that you linked to Suzy Fauxdom. She is the most wickedly funny writer in Hooterville.

  8. Suzy says:

    That’s Blagoevgrad, Bulgaria not Hooterville 🙂

  9. kimba says:

    ya.. I am picking up quite a stable of links from you Tom Allen.. I loved Suzy’s blog so far.. so I have it nestled in my links and I will read it at my leisure..

    It’s a bit weird Tom – when you are moving things.. and your boxes start talking back to you..

  10. Serenity says:

    Right yes thank you. now i just need to get busy…

  11. kimba says:

    liked suzy’s latest post *wink*

  12. ladycalliah says:

    oh sure, dump my ass just because I’m pregnant.

    😉

  13. Tom Allen says:

    Sorry, Lady C – while I did drop a few with broken links and a couple that hadn’t been updated in almost a year, I’m sure I had a few unintentional oversights.

    You’re now in Sexuality & Relationships.
    And you’ve got, what, a week to go before you pop out another little sprog? Please stop back and let us know how you’re getting on, okay?

  14. ladycalliah says:

    lol thanks tom – I will try 🙂

  15. Suzy says:

    Happy V-Day Tom! 🙂

  16. kimba says:

    Hey Tom.. I kinda like the look of this layout…
    The comments especially..

    But..

    You know..

    You could move me a little higher up the list couldn’t you..?

  17. Cat says:

    Nice new digs…now if you would only post something 🙂 Or are you planning on riding the popular friday fantasy through 2007?

  18. Tom Allen says:

    Kimba, just give me a little time to figure out which boxes have the good stuff in them, and which boxes have the clothes from high school. I switched the theme, and have had to mess with the formatting.

    Cat, I’ve been posting! Just nothing particularly sexy, I guess.
    Secretly, I’m jealous because your real life escapades are becoming much better than my fantasy life.

Talk to me!

