My Guilty Pleasures

I was snagged tagged by 2am:

Guilt What is yours? Explain yourself
Culinary: Macaroni & cheese I’m not even going to try to defend this one, other than to say it’s comfort food, especially on a cold winter’s day.
Literary: I never read popular fiction This is more of an “anti-guilt,” but I confess to being a little bit of a cultural snob. If “everybody” is reading it, then it must be declasse.
Audiovisual: Old, B-list sc-fi & horror movies I will quite literally go for months without turning on the tv. But if I’m sick, I like to curl up on the couch and watch Godzilla or The Blob.
Musical: 80s dance music Actually, I really enjoy most of the 80s music, and know what? I’m tired of feeling guilty about it. Excuse me while I crank up some Blondie!
Celebrity: Celebrities? Feh! Life has enough drama without watching the Trainwrecks of the Rich & Famous

I’m not tagging anybody else because this will make the rounds quickly enough.

About Tom Allen

The Grey Geezer Dauntless defender of, um, something that needed dauntless defending. Dammit, I can't read this script without my glasses. Hey, you kids, get off my damn lawn!
This entry was posted in Blogthing, meme. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to My Guilty Pleasures

  1. 2amsomewhere says:

    Thanks for playing along, Tom!

  2. joeflirt says:

    Wow! I am not the only 80’s music freak there is? Nice to know. 🙂

  3. Suzy says:

    Everybody Wang Chung Tonight:)

  4. Tom Allen says:

    I’m a puzzle to my musically inclined friends. Age-wise, I’m supposed to be a Led Zepplin fan, or perhaps one of those guys sitting around the bar giving his opinion on the pre- vs post Yoko John, and reminiscing about the time I partied with Mick and Keith. Back in college I discovered punk and what was to become New Wave. I was a B-52s fan way before Love Shack. I’ve got some really early rap vinyl – on colored discs, even. Somewhere in my basement I’ve got some bootleg tapes from bands that were popular for about nine months. I mean, how many friggin’ times can you listen to “Stairway,” huh?

  5. crash8088 says:

    I mean, how many friggin’ times can you listen to “Stairway,” huh?

    Stairway is overdone … I sure can’t disagree with you there. Just like Dust in the Wind or Sweet Child O’Mine. They’re fodder for every aspiring guitarist, and as such they’ve been beat to death. Hearing the intro just makes you want to yell, “Put the Telecaster down, and slowly back away”.

    But I can listen to Paradise by the Dashboard Lights a helluva lot more times than I can listen to Karma Chameleon or Wake Me Up Before You Go-Go.

    Not saying that all 80’s music is crap … it’s not at all. It reminds me of college and my early married years. I’m a big fan of the Go-Go’s, Men Without Hats, and Men at Work myself … I even liked Duran Duran.

    But you just can’t throw a blanket over an entire era of music because of a few overdone songs. Every bebop artist from Dizzy Gillespie to Charlie Parker to Miles Davis did A Night in Tunisia … bebop jazz is still good stuff.

  6. elise says:

    Oh no. . one of those never-reads-popular-fiction. . .you should try it sometime – you might like it!
    And actually 80s dance music is kind of cool now – so no need to feel guilty!

  7. Tom Allen says:

    But you just can’t throw a blanket over an entire era of music because of a few overdone songs.

    That’s exactly right. Every genre has something that made the pop charts, only to have us asking later “WTF was that about?” And I used to go dancing at disco clubs, but it didn’t mean that I played it to the exclusion of other music. Although I did make it very clear to the DJ at our wedding that ‘Celebration’ and ‘Ladies’ Night’ were not to be played at all.

    Elise, sorry, but I can not pick up Dean Koontz or Mary Higgins Clark without getting the same kind of heaves that other people get when forced to listen to Gloria Gaynor. I have not read a Steven King book in 20 years. John Grisham and Catherine Coulter leave me cold.
    I did read “The Historian” last year – does that count?

  8. crash8088 says:

    Every genre has something that made the pop charts, only to have us asking later “WTF was that about?”

    That was the funniest damn thing I’ve read in a week. Ain’t it the truth?

    I remember when the Macarena was the happening thing. I saw an interview with Kate Pierson from the B-52s, and she commented on the popularity of the song. “Y’know, every so often you just need to have a new ‘Hokey Pokey’. This is just the latest ‘Hokey Pokey’, that all.”

    I thought that summed it up quite nicely.

  9. Cat says:

    Tom you know a cookout in the south is not complete without “Ladies Night” you don’t know what you are missing. I listen to “the big 80s” more than any other station though. The music is just more upbeat and I am guaranteed to hear George Michael or the Pet Shop Boys, what more do you need.

  10. sangre says:

    Yay! 80’s music fans unite!

    Not only is 80’s music just fantastic but also how certain songs evoke the most wonderful memories from that era.

    Thank you for making me smile.

  11. kimba says:

    What is your prejudice toward popular fiction? you filthy literary snob.. Don’t blogs fall into that realm?

    (OK I don’t read pop fiction either, just wanted to open up comments to something other than 80’s music)

  12. Tom Allen says:

    Sangre, I have to admit that most of the 80s were pretty good for me, although I had some pretty bad times as well. I remember those Aussie bands that were popular (quiet, Kimba), having a cool apartment, a motorcycle, and getting laid quite often. In fact, I’m listening to Yahoo Radio right now, and I’ve got the 80s Alternative station on.

    Kimba, I have no problem with pop fiction – for other people. It’s just that as friendly and laid back and open that I seem to be, I have this teeny, tiny snobbish streak. No matter how hard I try, I just get this feeling that if everybody likes something, then there must be something wrong with it.

  13. Becker says:

    Tom I will confess I am the same with movies I absolutely will not go and see a movie if they have over promoted it and everyone tells me that I just have too. Take Lord of the Rings for instance I was interested at the beginning and then they just kept on and on about how damn awesome it was and bang! I lost interest. Still haven’t seen it to this day.

Talk to me!

