Interview Me(me)

Yet another blogging meme is making the rounds…

Five Questions (Interview Meme)

The Rules: Leave me a comment saying, “Interview me.”
I will respond by asking you five personal questions, which I will leave for you in my Comments section.
If I don’t know you that well, the questions will probably be easy and fun.
If I think I know you pretty well, then expect the questions to be a little more personal.
To answer them, you must repost the questions along with your answers in your journal/bloggy thing.
Then, make sure to include this explanation of how it works, and offer to interview anyone else who asks.

This is my conversation with Cat leading up to this meme:

Me: I’m trying to decide if I’m brave enough to ask to be interviewed. I don’t think that you’d ask me the softball questions.

Cat: Tom I will take it easy on you, promise 😉

Me: Hmm.
Know what? Interview me, but don’t ask me the easy ones. I think I need to be pushed a little.
Geez, how’s that for topping from the bottom, huh?

Damn. I knew I was asking for trouble.

~~~~~

Cat asks:

1. Do you think you would have been able to return to your marriage if your wife had not been willing to try dominance?

First, understand that it was not specifically a BDSM issue. What we really had – although even I wasn’t clear on this at the time – was an intimacy issue. Emotional, physical, and sexual intimacy are all connected; we didn’t begin to figure it out until I pointed out that virtually every conversation we had was about the house, the kids, or her family. Any subject that I brought up with emotional overtones was quickly sidetracked. It took a while for me to figure out that this was happening; for years I (mis)interpreted this as that she really didn’t care what I felt.

However, since part of the issue was my desire for some sexual exploration (and to be fair, we had done a bit back when we were dating), I think that while I would have returned, it would have been difficult to stay without her being willing to try something.

2. Following up question number one if your wife had tried and decided it just wasn’t for her do you think you would have stayed together?

I think that we would have found some kind of a compromise. In fact, the chastity play is a form of that.

3. If the situation had been reversed and your wife had been the one with sexual interests outside of your comfort zone do you think you would have been willing to branch out to please her?

I’m thinking that if she had interests outside of my comfort zone, she’d probably have been arrested by now.
*ahem*
In the past, I’ve been known to be pretty open-minded. Again, I think that I would be willing to compromise in some way.

4. If you were able to go back and change one decision in your life what would it be and why?

Oooh. You had to ask this one, huh?

I’d go back to my early 20s. There was a particular decision that I made that I’ve always wondered about. Worse, I’ve had several opportunities to rectify that decision, and each time turned away from… something that I’m not sure about even now.

This is a difficult question for me, and I will have to answer it in its own blog post.

5. Boxers or Briefs…hehehe

What? Who wears underwear anymore?

Boxers with pants or suit trousers, a tuxedo, or other loose fitting pants.

Briefs with shorts or jeans… when I bother to wear anything. I like to go “commando,” especially in the summer.

~~~~~

Okay, if anybody else wants in on this, just leave an “Interview me” comment. And let me know if you want the easy or the tough questions.

About Tom Allen

The Grey Geezer Dauntless defender of, um, something that needed dauntless defending. Dammit, I can't read this script without my glasses. Hey, you kids, get off my damn lawn!
This entry was posted in Blogging, Blogthing, Disclosure, meme, personality. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Interview Me(me)

  1. Cat says:

    You know Tom I have to admit when I asked #3 I suspected this would be your answer. But I was also curious if there was anything outside of your comfort zone. I shouldn’t be surprised that there isn’ t much…

  2. Lady Julia says:

    Interview me. Go ahead – ask the tough ones. I’m a Domme, always my perogative to decline to answer 😉

  3. Tom Allen says:

    The comfort zone question could have been taken in different ways. I assumed that you meant it as a hypothetical question: what if I were the more vanilla partner and it was my wife that wanted something more adventurous.

    Yes, there are some thing outside of my CZ. But I think that I could probably be persuaded to at least try almost any number of things if I had the right kind of relationship with my partner; that’s how it’s worked for me in the past.

    You suspected #3, huh? I’ve been thinking about blogging part of this story for a while.

  4. Tom Allen says:

    I’m a Domme, always my perogative to decline to answer 😉

    Umm… sort of goes against the spirit of the meme, dunnit?

    1) Would you get cosmetic surgery, and why/why not?
    2) Would your outlook on D/s or sexuality be different if you were not a nurse/caregiver? How?
    3) You are transported to an area with no submissive men available. How do you amuse yourself with the vanillas?
    4) What is your sex life going to be like in fifteen years?
    5) Boxers or briefs? And thongs or french cuts?

  5. kimba says:

    I loved your answers and Cat’s questions.. mhmmm very good questions Ms Cat. Maybe you should do this for a living?

    I have already done this with Cat, Tom.. but I’d be interested in what you’d ask me..

  6. Susan says:

    Hi Tom, liked your answers. I’ll give it a shot. I’ll take the hard ones as I have a few minutes now that the whole Fauxdomme is winding down:)

    P.S Stop messing with people’s dating lives:)

  7. Lady Julia says:

    Umm… sort of goes against the spirit of the meme, dunnit?

    Laughs – of course it does. I was just teasing. If you want to change the questions let me know. I am a fairly open book.

    Thanks for moving me up to the FauxDom list. I am quite proud to receive the designation.

  8. Tom Allen says:

    LJ – If you want to change the questions let me know. I am a fairly open book.

    No, I’m good with these. I thought they’d be a little more interesting than “what is your name? what is your quest? what is the average airspeed of an unladen swallow? what is your favorite color?”
    I knew you were teasing anyway 😉

    GS – I’ll take the hard ones

    As is evidenced by your stories. I’m going to need to sleep on your questions, though.

  9. Cat says:

    What the hell, interview me too. And you can ask any type of questions you like.

  10. Tom Allen says:

    Susan:
    1) What motivated you to give up a career in order to be a stay-at-home mother? What regrets do you have about this?
    2) You and Ty seem to be exploring D/s in a very natural way. How did this happen? Did he suggest it?
    3) If it was at Ty’s suggestion, how did he suggest it, and what was your reaction? And did it change your perspective of him?
    4) Would you have cosmetic surgery? Why or why not?
    5) Where the hell is my car? Boxers or briefs? And thongs or french cut?

  11. Tom Allen says:

    Kimba –
    1) So many women are uncomfortable with physical expression. What was one of the things that influenced you to enjoy kissing (pashing)?
    2) Was it hard for you to move to a big city? What drove you to make such a move?
    3) Eyes open or closed during lovemaking? And why?
    4) Are you more or less comfortable with your body than you were at 24? Why?
    5) Boxers or briefs? Thongs or french cut? (I stole this from Cat)

  12. Tom Allen says:

    Cat –
    *smirks*

    Oooh. I’m really going to think about questions for you!

  13. Pingback: Pssst … actions speak louder than words |

  14. Lady Calliah says:

    Ok, Interview me 🙂

  15. Emma Kelly says:

    I am not sure I know how this works but I think I get it.

    Interview me.

Talk to me!

