Even a caveman…?

Well, as I read the interplay between Bitchy, Eileen and Maymay about how men in our society can not be considered to be both “pretty” and “powerful” or “manly“, and the comments increase almost hourly with exceptions to those rules and about how some women are all about breaking down those stereotypes, in comes this news item:

Study: Men With ‘Cavemen’ Faces Most Attractive to Women

Yabba dabba yabba dabba yabba dabba dabba doo now!

Guys with bulldog-like faces have been chick magnets throughout human evolutionary history.

A recent study of the skulls of human ancestors and modern humans finds that women, and thereby evolution, selected for males with relatively short upper faces.

The region between the brow and the upper-lip is scrunched proportionately to the overall size of their heads.

Among the men who fit the bill: Will Smith and Brad Pitt.

The scientists are not certain why today’s distinctive male face and its proportions evolved.

Here’s where it gets interesting:

While the scientists who authored the current study examined skulls and did not specifically study how modern faces fit the findings, the Natural History Museum press officers applied Weston’s findings to a “quick and dirty” survey of photos of celebrities.

They came up with a list of stars with masculine faces, listing them from most to least masculine according to facial dimensions: Will Smith, Australian singer Peter Andre, Justin Timberlake, French soccer pro Thierry Henry, Brad Pitt, David Beckham, Johnny Depp and Kanye West.

I don’t really have any comment on this, except to note the synchronicity of this article. That, and, perhaps because of my age, the word “pretty” doesn’t jibe with the list of adjectives that are “supposed” to go in the Masculine column on my internal checklist.

Frankly, I don’t think I ever gave this discussion topic much thought until last year, when I posted those pics of my new frenum piercing. A reader from another group saw them and wrote “Oooh, Tom – you’re *pretty*”

I didn’t know quite how to take that at first. Admittedly, I had to wonder for a few moments if she was being serious. “I’m a guy,” I thought to myself, “call me handsome, virile, or even ‘attractive’, but don’t compare me with a woman! That’s, like, you know… weird.”

Okay, so I just completely blew my image of “Mr. Non-judgmental.” Sorry.

Don’t worry, I’m all better now.

I don’t know where some of these cultural ideas come from, or why they hide inside us, exerting a subtle influence. But sometimes it takes an incident like this, or like what Maymay experienced in order to drag those mental bogeymen out into the daylight in order to be examined.

About Tom Allen

The Grey Geezer Dauntless defender of, um, something that needed dauntless defending. Dammit, I can't read this script without my glasses. Hey, you kids, get off my damn lawn!
This entry was posted in Appearance, Body Image, Manliness, Stereotypes. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Even a caveman…?

  1. bitchyjones says:

    Will Smith, Australian singer Peter Andre, Justin Timberlake, French soccer pro Thierry Henry, Brad Pitt, David Beckham, Johnny Depp and Kanye West and Tom Allen

    Mmmmmmmm!

    *Huh?* Did you say something else?

  2. maymay says:

    Similarly synchronous was a (spam) email that appeared in my inbox immediately (and I mean to the second!) after I finished writing that post. Its subject line: “Protect your masculinity!” It’s content: trying to sell designer watches. It was probably the most well-timed spam I’d ever gotten in my entire life.

  3. Tom Allen says:

    It’s content: trying to sell designer watches. It was probably the most well-timed spam I’d ever gotten

    And May wins the award for the “Wurst Pun of the Weak!”

  4. Tom Allen says:

    Johnny Depp and Kanye West and Tom Allen

    Heh – I just noticed that.

    I love you too, Beej.

  5. la fille says:

    Johnny Depp… Tom Allen… seems about right.

    I’m afraid that I have been reluctant to use the word pretty when describing my men, even when I think it, since it seems a sure way to get a negative reaction, unfortunately. Beautiful, however, I use all the time (when I mean it). Why is that more acceptable?

  6. Grumpy says:

    Johnny Depp has a masculine face ?

    Ah, had to go back and re-read that. Now I get it, he’s at the other end of the scale.

    “The region between the brow and the upper-lip is scrunched proportionately to the overall size of their heads.”

    Makes me think of that gangster character in the old Bugs Bunny cartoons. The one called “The Boss”

  7. Countess says:

    Ah, I just wrote about this article in my blog. I don’t find most of the men they mentioned as attractive in the least. To me, the caveman look equates stupidity. Nothing sexy about lower intelligence to me. Mind you, I don’t mind when men become a bit “stupid” when they’re tied up and being teased and tormented, but I’m definitely not attracted to the caveman look. Blech.

    I guess it’s all in semantics. I wouldn’t classify you, Tom, as pretty looking, but as intelligent looking. And that is sexy.

  8. serenity39 says:

    That is THE most useless list ever. But i am completely immune to the whole Brad Pitt thing anyway. Defined somewhat loosely the ‘caveman’ look is apparent in UFC fighters and they are pure testosterone fun. So maybe this isn’t an entirely specious scientific study after all…

  9. Tom Allen says:

    And just yesterday, I ran across another study that talked about the attraction that women have to men with “sensitive” features. Gotta find that link.

  10. Tom Allen says:

    Yup, that’s the one.

    People are so weird.

  11. art says:

    There’s a better study with somewhat similar results. Girls and Women are shown photographs of Adult men. Some rather “pretty” for lack of a better word. Styled hair, perfect teeth, smooth skinned. Some with scars, beards, broken noses, square bull-dog jaws, shaved heads etc…

    The little girls pick the “pretty ” ones. The adult Women pick the guys who look like they can keep the sabre-toothed tigers out-of-the-cave.

    I find it hard to believe Johnny Depp wound up in the “masculine” category. He looks like the proverbial fruit-loop who got his lunch money confiscated every day in Junior High, to me.

  12. maymay says:

    There is nothing new here; it is the “bad boys” women want to fuck and the “nice guys” women want to have take care of their household. The main problem I see with all of this is, speaking as a “nice guy” of course, is that the bad boys end up with what they want (a lot of sex), women end up with what they want (a lot of sex and a nice guy to take care of the household) and the nice guys end up the getting very little of what they want (also a lot of sex and possibly some requited love).

    I know, enough with the bitter and jealous, you’re saying. Well if not me, then who?

Talk to me!

