Dreamin’ & Meme-in’

This meme is from Cat, who probably thought I forgot about it.

‘Write five things you want to be when you grow up. Big dreams that seem like folly, but in your heart of hearts are very real and dear to you. Things that maybe you have forgotten about in the ebb and flow and toil of the everyday, but that never really leave your soul. What you would do if anything was possible?’

1) Quit my job
Yeah, pretty standard stuff. But frankly, I’m getting tired of manufacturing; the fans and groupies, the fast cars and loud women, the all-night partying… Anyone who thinks that owning your own business is the way to go has it right – it’s the way to go crazy from stress.

2) Open a bookstore-slash-coffeeshop
Or a massage studio, or something other than what I’m doing now. Hell, sometimes I think it would be fun to fill up my garage with more woodworking tools an d make stupid little kitschy, crafty things and sell’em on Ebay.

3) Buy a studio apartment in NYC
I like NYC, and when I was younger I spent a lot of time there. I’d love to wander around, visiting museums and galleries, and doing pretty much nothing but exploring.

4) Buy a cabin in the northwest hills
Of course, I’d get pretty sick of the crowds after a while. I like the city, but I also like my space, so I’d need a small house out in the nortwestern hills of Connecticut. I’m thinking Kent or Canaan, someplace way the hell up Route 7 where even the antiquers don’t go. Problem is, the damn New Yawkers have infiltrated the area, driving the prices up. Being a life-long New England resident, I know that the further out I go, the less likely I am to have a cable TV hookup – which is a big plus – but it also means I might have to forgo DSL (*shudders*). I wonder how satellite networking is?

5) Back to school
Yes, back to school to get my massage therapy credits. Or if money is no object (we’re dreaming here, right?) I’d go back and get my MS in Therapy (my original intent, 30 years ago) and open up a small practice… up in the northwestern Conn hills, where I could be a counselor to all those damn New Yawkers…

Unlike other people, I didn’t put “travel” as one of the things I’d do. I’m not a traveler, at least in the sense of just being a tourist. Not that I don’t enjoy a vacation, but I wouldn’t want to do it often.

About Tom Allen

The Grey Geezer Dauntless defender of, um, something that needed dauntless defending. Dammit, I can't read this script without my glasses. Hey, you kids, get off my damn lawn!
This entry was posted in Blogthing, meme. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dreamin’ & Meme-in’

  1. Toni says:

    Seems to me the sedentry lifestyle suits you. Would you really want to be a therapist listening to all those Wall Streeters whining about their problems? I did a stint on Wall Street and despised most of the people I met, although I did meet Jimmy Carter at some do in the Citibank centre and he was surprisingly cool!
    Anyway, I don’t believe in therapy, still if your an advocate thats fine – I also don’t believe in orgasm denial.

  2. Tom Allen says:

    I don’t know if it’s sedentary, Toni; but I’m certainly not as interested in globetrotting as I used to be.

    Years ago I was a psych student, planning on picking up a PhD so I could open a therapy practice. I’ve had this idea that I could do a holistic centre (when you spell it that way in the US, it just screams “exclusive”), in which one could find a cognitive therapist, a yoga and meditation instructor, and a massage therapist all under one roof.

    I really did get derailed somehow.
    *sighs*

    You don’t have to believe in orgasm denial, but it does exist. So does therapy; some people have fuzzy thinking and are helped by having somebody else give them a more objective perspective on their situation. I don’t particularly agree with the whole Freudian 12 years on a couch thing, but cognitive and rational therapies have long since proved themselves to be useful to people.

  3. Fuse says:

    I wonder how satellite networking is?

    Last I hear from users in my area of eye-duh-hoe, it was very slow on the uploads, fairly quick on the downloads, cost a shitload to set up, and pricy per month…

    any other questions?

  4. sexywhispers says:

    I have done it….you have to live up to it now. I have been threatening to make a category on the blog called “Men Making Sense” just for you (so far!). Dancing around….Ha! That is what you get for sailing over there once to often and being an enlightened man!~~Dee

Talk to me!

