Stereotypical Joke

Jokes are a great way to study culture because they often portray those things that people may think without being willing to admit publicly. I subscribe to a joke-a-day list, and like most of you, I get dozens of stale jokes forwarded to me from well-meaning friends who have yet to learn how to cut & paste to avoid the >> >> >>>> > >>>, or the dozen message envelopes with the header “This is funny!!!!” or “You’ve got to read this!!! Too true!!!!!” that you need to get through before you can actually read the damn thing.

Yeah, go ahead and tell me that you would just delete the thing. I rarely do that because you never know – AOL and Microsoft and Outback Steakhouse and Fudrucker’s might, just might be willing to give me a new car full of Ben & Jerry’s Super Fudge Chunk if I forward it on to 2,500 of my closest friends

Anyway, this joke came to me this morning. It’s old, but I still laughed because the stereotypes that it plays up still seems funny to me. Then I caught myself laughing, and began to wonder why I found it so funny. Perhaps in the back of my mind it still rings of some amount of truth, or at least, skirts dangerously close. I suspect that a lot of men will find it funny, and a few women will roll their eyes.

Bill and Ted were at a poker game that had run late – past 3 a.m.

Bill says, “You know what I hate about these games? When I go home, I turn off my headlights, shut off the engine, and coast into the driveway. Then I go to the front door, take off my shoes and sneak in as quietly as I can. But my wife always wakes up and we end up having a fight.”

Ted replied “You’re going about it the wrong way. What I do instead is drive into the driveway, honk the horn a few times, get out of the car, slam the door, go in the house and bang the door open. Then I yell ‘Honey, I’m home’, run upstairs, slap her on the ass and say, ‘Hey, how’s about a little lovin’, woman?’ She never even rolls over.”

Okay, anybody up for dissecting this one?

About Tom Allen

The Grey Geezer Dauntless defender of, um, something that needed dauntless defending. Dammit, I can't read this script without my glasses. Hey, you kids, get off my damn lawn!
This entry was posted in Culture, Humor, Marriage & Relationships, relationships, sex, Sexuality & Relationships, Stereotypes, Vanilla Sex and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Stereotypical Joke

  1. Wendy says:

    I don’t actually find the joke funny, but your header bar of fudge is making me crave chocolate like nobodies business. I must go to the irish import store and buy much dairy milk now….

  2. Kate says:

    Tag! You’re it! Passing on the fun…Smith magazine memoir meme…you know you want to.

  3. Fuse says:

    Well it appears the wimmin folk don’t want to talk about it…

    But yeah, it does make a point, a sad one to be sure, that happens alot I’d imagine. I think it could have been anytime (11pm,midnight, 1am, etc) and it would still pertain in some cases…

    That’s all the dissecttng you’re going to get for me.

  4. *crickets*

    There’s a joke in there?

  5. I hate these kinds of jokes. They may seem harmless, but they perpetuate a negative stereotype. Then again, stereotypes, unfortunately, have some sort of root in truth, otherwise they couldn’t be stereotypes. On the other hand, I don’t mind dissecting these jokes. 🙂

    There are several stereotypes here. 1. the insensitive, gadding about man. 2. the nagging wife 3. the lack of interest in sex by wives.

    I’d rather hear about a husband and wife hanging out together, going home together and fucking like bunnies, but that wouldn’t be a joke then would it. 🙂

  6. Marianne says:

    Well, my first reaction was ‘ha!’, and then I rolled my eyes.

    I’m clearly very confused about my gender identity. 😉

  7. sexywhispers says:

    Humm….I will just admit that I thought the joke was funny as hell and forwarded to the hubby.

    We laugh about stereotypes all the time. It like the other night when he was watching tv while I was in the bath. I yelled “what are you watching?” and he yelled back the name of some adult show on cable. To which I responded, “Thank God is not the news!” We giggled like girls about that cause the news bugs the hell out of me. He commented that he must have the only wife in the world that would rather her hubby watch T&A than the news.

    Then….I admit it….I did wonder about the Ben & Jerrys Super Fudge Chunk! Mmmmm….. 😉

  8. Liah says:

    I don’t know if you are looking for a real life reply to misogynistic fiction, but here goes.

    Some women kink very, very hard on being the one who initiates sex.

    I do.

    A man who initiates or asks for sex, instead of being at my disposal, takes away my ability to initiate sex. Which turns me off. The overture of man taking the initiative just doesn’t work for me. It can be a difficult kink to communicate, since it goes so strongly against social conventions and gender stereotypes.

    With a compatible man who strongly kinks on being my sexual servant, knows how my sexuality works, and is there for me, and says “yes” when I initiate sex, it works wonderfully. 🙂

  9. allforher says:

    If you leave out the sex aspect the joke is broken down into how women deal with men. The man trying to sneak in and avoid confrontation is met with confrontation. The man who is loud and obnoxious is met with the cold shoulder, which is what he is looking for.
    I guess that’s the stereotypes broken down.

  10. Pingback: Two cards were...

Talk to me!

