Biblio Meme

What Are You Reading?

  1. The Rules:
  2. Pick up the nearest book.
  3. Open to page 123.
  4. Find the fifth sentence.
  5. Post the next three sentences.
  6. Tag a few people.

I got snagged tagged by Blacksilk, who shows off her alluring intellectual side with an interesting choice of reading material. Smart women make me very warm and tingly inside.

Anyway, I happen to have these two books right next to each other at a fingertip’s reach from my keyboard. Let’s see if you can guess the titles. The first one should be easy; my 12 year old daughter would guess it. The second one. . .

Book 1:
Someone from the dead planet was talking to them.
“Computer!” shouted Zaphod.
“Hi there!”

Book 2:
He was the good cop in the family, he left all the big decisions to Mom.
Now Mom tried to argue, tried to make him see reason. We lived above the snowline, we had all we needed. Why trek into the unknown when we could just stock up on supplies, continue to fortify the house, and just wait until the first fall frost?

Okay, who gets tagged? Let’s pick some more people who have stimulated my intellectual side. . .

How about Elizavetta, Gillette, and the recently re-animated E?

About Tom Allen

The Grey Geezer Dauntless defender of, um, something that needed dauntless defending. Dammit, I can't read this script without my glasses. Hey, you kids, get off my damn lawn!
This entry was posted in Blogging, Blogroll, Blogthing, meme and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Biblio Meme

  1. Blacksilk says:

    Aww, thank you, Tom. The first is a great book, the second however I confess ignorance on.

  2. Patty says:

    Funny you did this, I was so disappointed in my last book (see below) that I was going to write a blog about it. Maybe I should read some Adams again, he always cheers me up!

    “But you were going to tell us why the lions were important,” she said.

    In truth, I could no longer remember why the lions were important. But happily for my image, my cell phone began to chatter before I could admit it.

  3. Marianne says:

    Ha. I googled it. World War Z? Is it any good?

  4. havingmycake says:

    My first thought was Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy… No idea about the second one.

  5. Pingback: Vespertine Erotica » Meme-y

  6. Elizavetta says:

    You tagged me because I stimulate your intellectual side? Bwahahaha! Take THIS, Tom!

  7. Elizabeth says:

    Oh god.

    For the record, I am *always* animated. (I talk with teh hands, shocker there. 🙂 )

    All right. Hope to heavens there is something non-embarrasing in the bookcase to my left.

    hugs! (and kisses) E

  8. darklily says:

    Mind if I join in Tom? I’m sitting at my desk attempting to read something for a course I’m being forced to take for work. It’s just too perfect for the situation: page 123 of this manual says “This page intentionally left blank.”

    A 200+ page overnment procedures manual. Gods help me.

  9. Tom Allen says:

    Yes, the first book was Douglas Adams’ “Hitch Hiker’s Guide to the Galaxy.”

    The second one was Max Brooks’ “World War Z” – a fantastic tale about how humanity found itself suddenly on the defensive of a zombie plague. It’s told as a series of interviews from after we won and are trying to rebuild civilization.

    The movie rights to the book have already been taken and supposedly there are several scripts in the works.

Talk to me!

