Interesting Times

Shoulder Pain - and not in a good way.Wow, it has literally been a month since my last post.

A shoulder injury has made it not just difficult, but actually painful to sit down to a keyboard. Even now, I’m literally standing at my desk, where I’ve set my keyboard up on blocks to make it easier. I somehow managed to pull a muscle in my upper back/shoulder, and despite warm showers, hot pads, and hour-long deep tissue massages, it kept cramping up. Ever get one of those nasty muscle cramps in your leg? That’s what it’s like, only between my spine and shoulder blade. I’ve had to keep my typing down to just a few sentences at a time, and mainly I’ve been saving that only for work. I have no idea what caused it, either, so I’m not sure what I ought not to do to prevent it from happening again.

Mrs. Edge has been sick with one flu or another since before Christmas. I’ve been fine, and I’m crediting my constant exercise and healthy eating, about which everybody around me is sick of hearing by now. I don’t know about you, but I’m sure that most of us in the northern hemisphere are sick of the 15ºF temps, and are more than ready for something warm – say, even in the mid 30s or 40s is sounding good about now.

That said, it’s been an interesting time at the Edge household. Sometime at the end of December, Mrs. Edge and I began talking about the next round of chastity play. I’d spent the previous weeks modifying and testing both the CB3000 and the CB6000. I developed some issues with the 6k; I suspect it’s because he tube is a little more snug. I need to fill in the side vent holes with clear silicone before I try it again, but just haven’t found time. I fixed a couple of little things with the 3k, including replacing the epoxy in the vent holes with clear silicone; I’ll be writing about those soon.

This means – for those of you Chastity/OD aficionados who love to keep track of this stuff – that except for short periods of more modification and testing, I’ve been wearing some kind of device pretty much 24/7 since November. Mrs. Edge is taking a different approach this time; it’s going to be less about the denial (mine, that is) itself, and more about her exploring her own boundaries of control over me and our sex life. We’ve had some interesting and very good conversations about this, which in itself has been nice, as Mrs. Edge has always had a more difficult time with intimate discussions. It’s brought us a little closer, too, which is also a good thing. I’ll get into this later, when I can type for longer periods.

I’ve also been experimenting with different ways to make the 3k more secure, and I think I’m onto (or is that into?) something surprisingly comfortable and convenient. That will dovetail into the article that I started a while ago about the battle between comfort and convenience and security inherent with male chastity devices. I need to add some things to it, and hope to finish it in the next couple of weeks. It really took several days just to get the article that you’re reading now.

I’m also pleased that I’ve finally lost the weight that I put between Thanksgiving and New Year. I had to cut back the workouts to avoid irritating my shoulder, and I’ve lost some ground, but I seem to be regaining strength, and this weekend managed to do a few exercises beyond what I had done before the injury. I’m seeing real muscle definition in the mirror, and even the long-suffering Mrs. Edge, who has had to put up with my constant preening, is starting to enjoy the view.

The hands of a professional... This worked pretty well for me.For those of you who don’t actually read this blog, but who just look at the pictures, I want to point you to a new blogger who has been putting up “captioned pictures” that are a bit more teh sexxay than those cheezeburger cats, and more interesting than LOL Celebs. Chastity Fantasies of an Obsessive Compulsive is the rather long name, but his captions are very understated, and the pictures are always hot, whether they be lingerie models or the woman next door amateurs. No cruel, harsh mistresses or sniveling worms; these pics are always captioned with just-believable scenarios that would fuel the minds of kinksters and vanilla alike. Go and enjoy – I’ve got to rest my back for a bit.

About Tom Allen

The Grey Geezer Dauntless defender of, um, something that needed dauntless defending. Dammit, I can't read this script without my glasses. Hey, you kids, get off my damn lawn!
This entry was posted in CB2000, CB3000, CB6000, chastity, Chastity & Orgasm Denial, Chastity Devices, Eye Candy, male chastity, orgasm control, orgasm denial, Sexuality & Relationships and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Interesting Times

  1. Fusion says:

    Sorry to hear about the injury Tom, thought you’d just been busy. Do you think your exercise routine may have caused it?
    And yes, I’ve been teased over here with 40’s and almost 50 one day, then right back into the twenties. I’m very ready for spring.

  2. thumper says:

    Mrs. Edge is taking a different approach this time; it’s going to be less about the denial (mine, that is) itself, and more about her exploring her own boundaries of control over me and our sex life.

    Seriously can’t wait to hear about that!

    Also glad to see you’re still among the living.

  3. Tom Allen says:

    Fuse, I’m not sure. I had something similar happen last spring, so it’s possible that I’m doing something wrong in my workouts. I really just don’t know. And driving in the car is excruciating because of the way I’m positioned – even if I tip the seat up as far as possible. I can stand or lie down, any other position just aggravates it. But oddly, I can lift things and still exercise with light weights, and it feels fine.

    Thumpy – I’ve managed to leave comments here and there, but that’s about it. This week is the first that I’ve been okay enough to sit at a keyboard for more than a few minutes at a time. Too bad because I’ve had some interesting conversations that would have been better posted as they happened. Not that anybody would be interested in that kind of thing around here.

  4. Ranai says:

    Hope you’ll get better soon, Tom, and Mrs Edge’s immune system will chase those flus away. I’m looking forward to reading about your joint explorations of sexual control and surrender when you can write without causing pain in your shoulder. Meanwhile take care and take it easy.

  5. Bekah says:

    It’s 55 here today, but not sunny, still it’s nice to walk out and not be able to see your breathe, or feel the inside of your nose freeze.

    It pains me a great deal in my shoulder to sit and type at the computer too. It really sucks working where I have to do just that, all day. Bah. I hope you are feeling better with each new day!

    Bek

  6. ptathuk says:

    Tom,

    Thank you for the link. Oh, and thank you again for the comments you left.

    I got my first compliment through FetLife, today. Most chuffed. (That’s English for very pleased!)

    I read in a Terry Prachette novel that, ” may you live in interesting times”, is considered to be quite a severe Chineeese curse. But I wish you and Mrs. Edge the exact opposite. A speedy recovery to you both.

    ptathuk

  7. Tom Allen says:

    Ranai – Thanks for the well-wishing. I’m sure that a few much needed days of warm weather will do wonders.

    Beckah – I’ve been amazed at how much this has affected my work. I’m more frustrated, though, at not knowing why.

    BTW, I hadn’t been to your blog for a while, and today I was struck by the funny title. 🙂

    PT – I’m not a huge fan of captioned pics, but yours really seem to grab me. I just had to spread the word. Where in Fetlife was it mentioned? I couldn’t find it.

    And of course, you know I’m a Terry Pratchett fan, right?
    🙂

  8. Aarkey says:

    I hope you feel better Tom, and I’m glad you’ve been on the mend. Back, neck, shoulder, wrist… who thought that typing and mousing would be so tough! 😛

    I’m curious to hear more about the mod too… though I’m sure that’s no surprise!

  9. Tom,

    I hope you’re feeling better soon! It’s cute to see that “Most Chuffed” is a compliment. I’m going to use it and see if anybody knows what I’m talking about 😉 Now I’m off to the lift to go to my flat to smoke a fag. I love British / American English differences 🙂

    Catalina

  10. Tom Allen says:

    Just be careful that nobody “knocks you up” later on.

  11. darklily says:

    Sorry to hear about the injury. I know too from experience how aggravating it is to be so affected by an injury that you don’t even remember getting. Go see the doc/physical therapist (since I don’t see any mention of that and I know how you men can be ; ) )

    Now that I’ve expressed empathy though…I do have a little dig. I was about 20 degress north of the equator last week. Freezing temps, what? There’s a bunch of photos in my journal…turquoise water and sky, ancient temples. : P

  12. GreyOwl says:

    Tom, interesting you should mention this… I paid a visit to the doc too, thinking I had really hurt myself. Turns out that at my age (ok, I’m probably a couple years ahead of you) that I actually need to ‘warm up’ before jumping into my weight routine. Doc gave me a few suggestions, and it did the trick… I don’t think my shoulders have felt this well since my late 30’s. I’ve even added a few minutes of yoga and that has helped too.

    So we need to get your back into shape… we’re all eagerly waiting for your next post … regarding you and Mrs Edge of course.

    For a few warmer temps… you’ll have to visit out here in the Rockies… Yes, we’re getting great snow in the mountains, but down along the range, they had a couple days near 70 (unheard of in February).

    Now… take care and warm up… in all directions. 😉

  13. susans.pet says:

    Sheesh, you young whipper-snapper! Complaining about a muscle spasm. Wait till you get old.

    I was beginning to think that maybe you have died of old age. But no, you are whining about some shoulder thingy that prevents you from writing. Damn. Today’s young. Ingrates.

    OK, I am not that old. But I can tell you that keeping in shape helps, and I approve of your doing it. My motto is, “when it really hurts, you should not do it again” referring to weight lifting, etc. I have hurt myself being the usual stoic fellow who will grin and bear it. But when I have to pay for rehabilitation, I begin to change my attitude. I am glad to see you back.

    About the ahm… chastity thing, I think that you are becoming an expert. Next step is to design, develop, and sell your own device. Just give me a small percentage for the idea.

  14. Tom Allen says:

    I resurrected my old laptop, and it’s fairly comfortable to type while sitting on the couch.

    I’m reasonably sure that I did not hurt myself weight lifting. I change up my routine every few weeks, but nothing drastic, and I use mainly dumb bells, so I’m rarely doing anything especially strenuous. But who knows – it could have been from something as simple as putting away groceries or something.

    And I don’t know about being any kind of chastity device expert – but I’ve got enough experience with tweaking things, and I certainly take the time to figure out why something works – or doesn’t.

    I’m not sure if I want the hassle of designing a device for other people, but maybe I’ll consider selling some of my tweaks for existing ones.

  15. Elle says:

    Ah well them, here I was hoping, for a second, that you’d make a sexy metal chastity device 😀

    Hope your back is feeling better. Sucks not to be able to go about your daily routine…

  16. Milliscent says:

    tom,

    I too send along my wishes for a complete and quick recovery for you.

  17. lush says:

    and my education continues…looking forward to reading more about the chasitiy device…

  18. Tom Allen says:

    Lush – Thanks for stopping by to comment. If you poke around the blog, you’ll get a pretty good idea of how they work.

    M – I appreciate your taking time out from Airstreaming and political ranting to stop by 🙂

    Elle – I’m ready to get back into writing again. So much has happened.
    I really don’t want the aggravation of making a device – at least, not one for sale to the general (if specific) public. Even making the parts and mods for mine is a time consuming process, with a lot of testing and tweaking.

  19. Bound says:

    Hi Tom. First time on the blog and truly enjoying your thoughts and experiences. Very similar. Thought I might offer something on the injury though you weren’t very specific. I’m in my late 40’s and pretty active in the gym but have recurring muscle spasms in my upper middle back (feels like underneath my should blades). After battling with these for years, turns out that as I’ve gotten more muscle mass, my pecs have tended to pull my shoulders forward and working and typing on computers isn’t helping. I’ve found that keeping the shoulders well back and resisting the temptation to round your shoulders have ultimately helped me. Good luck. Matt

    • Tom Allen says:

      Thanks for stopping by, B.
      Working out with a weight routine is new for me, and there are still some things that I’m getting used to. Like you, I’ve noticed that I feel better when I make a conscious effort not to round off the shoulders. I periodically have to make a point to squeeze my shoulder blades back. I also am learning to put things in different positions for comfort. For example, I used to hate those stoopid keyboard drawers that went under the desk – now I find them more comfortable.

      I’m also discovering that when I’m surfing, I spend a lot of time leaning on my right forearm with my hand on the mouse. I have a keyboard that allows me to scroll with my left hand, but I still need to stop leaning on that arm. I think it has something to do with the spasms.

Talk to me!

