More to love

These Plus-sized Glamour models all look pretty normal to me

Glamour Magazine, apparently emboldened by the huge number of positive responses to their September 2009 issue, featuring a normal-sized woman plus-sized model sporting some belly fat, rounded up some other attractive, normal-sized women plus-sized models for their November issue.

Kudos to Glamour Magazine, and to the designers with an eye for the average woman. But I wonder what it says about our culture when it’s (ahem) big news to feature models who are affectionately termed “plus sized” — even though most of these models are still smaller than the average sized women in the US or UK?

About Tom Allen

The Grey Geezer Dauntless defender of, um, something that needed dauntless defending. Dammit, I can't read this script without my glasses. Hey, you kids, get off my damn lawn!
This entry was posted in Appearance, Body Image, Eye Candy. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to More to love

  1. I’m happy to see that Glamour is including a few models that more women can relate to, but I have to wonder when the media starts spinning these women as “normal sized” how that makes women who are just naturally very thin feel. Or on the other end of the spectrum, how the women who are several sizes larger than these “normal” women feel. Maybe they could include women of all shapes and sizes on a regular basis and stop labeling and/or calling attention to them? I have no idea. Just sayin’…

    • In my opinion, people who are naturally very thin have already been accommodated and supported and featured for a very long time. In my opinion, whilst I wholeheartedly support inclusion in general, I tend to lean a little bit more in favour of investing more effort in including those who are habitually excluded and marginalised, and this includes practically every body type  other than the naturally very thin.

      I agree that commonly supporting, featuring and accommodating diverse body styles is a worthwhile goal. However I am not too worried about the naturally very thin. They still have their support system in place within the bulk of the publications on this planet.

      Instead of focusing on any one of the hugely numerous examples of media which encourage feelings of inferiority, I think a more useful focus might be to wonder why so many people are so readily prepared to accept and assume that they themselves are inferiour in the face of such a clearly unrepresentative sample. Because normally I’d expect information like that to be discarded in the category of  “doesn’t apply to me”,  instead of  “that’s not me, therefore me = bad and therefore I must change myself”.

  2. Frankly, I don’t read Glamour Mag. Nor Elle. Nor Cosmo. None of them, in fact. I’ve always resisted mainstream blather about “womanhood.”

    Maybe it started during my childhood/adolescence when a dysfunctional caretaker told me — at numerous times and among other things — that I was too skinny, flat-chested, ugly, stupid, lazy … etc. etc. I survived that bitch because I knew she didn’t love me and thus her words held no power.

    Don’t get me wrong … I love a nice pair of peep-toe pumps or a new pair of glittery earrings. But I — me me me me — decide what’s good for me. Not some high-gloss, vapid magazine. Which, btw, is a lot more about how many ads they can fit in between those wasted pages of paper, than about anything to do with the real women sucked into believing the hype.

    Personally, I find the women in my life who believe in and follow that crap rather vapid and quite boring.

    On the other hand — irregardless of their height, weight, hair color, breast size — the girls in my social circle who really stand out and are truly “glamorous” happen to be quite comfortable in their own skin. They are smart, confident and live full and bountiful lives.

    Now THAT is TRUE glamor anyway you slice it. Real trumps Gloss any day of the week. At least in my book. (And it is a book … not a mag.)

    xo

  3. little bitch says:

    It is a step in the right direction for Glamour to publish this. But, i agree with the other comments, what does it say for other women of what’s “normal”

    Beauty, as Angela so beautifully explained, is inside. i find the most beautiful women are ones that know they are beautiful and exude it. It is demonstrated in how they carry themselves and act. It is not a size, color, weight, or shape thing. Their inner beauty comes out and everything falls right behind.

    i am so fortunate to be married and to serve such a beautiful woman.

  4. maymay says:

    I think we need a new baseline. Let’s start calling typical models “negative sized” models. 🙂 Yaaaay language spin.

  5. Dominique D'Aprix says:

    What’s with the cross-outs? The women in the photo are gorgeous just as they are. I read that women are more beautiful now than they were and the article attributed it to evolution. Maybe evolution is making women “plus-sized” so that IS normal and the thinner women haven’t evolved as far.

    • If I understand correctly, the cross-outs are Tom’s words, and the ones after are the ones Glamour magazine used.

      I think that favouring one group of people because of their size and marginalising others for the same reason is disrespectful and inappropriate no matter which sizes the inclusion/exclusion are based on. I mean, how is marginalising thin people  (by calling them “less-evolved” for example)  going to help anything?

      In my opinion, social inclusion cannot be achieved by simply swapping over one excluded group for another.

  6. Normal-sized? Those models still look like they could be snapped in half during sex!

  7. havingmycake says:

    What they all said! I have rolls like that when I bend over and Im a UK 6. They havent really given anything much at all have they. Id say those ladies are probably UK 10/12 whilst the average UK woman is a 16.

  8. Susan's pet says:

    Sheesh! What they can’t make up in size, they attempt to make up in number. Still, it’s a lovely mass of humanity.

  9. cricketed says:

    Brilliant, and thanks for adding me to your roll of chastity blogs.

  10. Liras says:

    I mentioned this article on Otep’s ‘All Shapes and Sizes”. Sadly, most of the responses I got veered way off into the silly zone.

    I am very glad that average sized women are portrayed as sexy, desirable and beautiful, too. We often forget in our age of super self-esteem that images do affect people.

  11. Pingback: Full Scale Models « The Edge of Vanilla

  12. Pingback: You women just aren’t satisfied, are you? « The Edge of Vanilla

  13. Pingback: Down mammary lane « The Edge of Vanilla

Talk to me!

