First World BDSM Problems

Your new girlfriend turns out to be quite the history buff, and wants you to play out some historical re-enactments.

About Tom Allen

The Grey Geezer Dauntless defender of, um, something that needed dauntless defending. Dammit, I can't read this script without my glasses. Hey, you kids, get off my damn lawn!
This entry was posted in First World BDSM Problems and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to First World BDSM Problems

  1. BlakeNietzche says:

    I can get with the leather look, even the millitary/prisoner thing is OK. Personally, I think the Nazi arm band crosses the line into some deeply offensive territory.

    Comments? I’d like to see the community come together around the idea that explicit Nazi symbolism should be rejected as in poor taste and too offensive and hurtful to a large number of people to be accepted.

    • Tom Allen says:

      WWII German style uniforms are pretty distinctive, so even though the SS, swastika, or Iron Cross might be missing, the look of the uniforms themselves are no less provocative – or perhaps I should say “evocative”.

      I’m not defending the continued use, mind you (I don’t have that particular kink), it’s just that I don’t see how it would make that much difference.

      • tcs says:

        Sexual fantasies are complex, and details can make all the difference. Depending on your experience, a person can have a pretty visceral reaction to certain details and imagery, so I think it understandably could make a difference to some people even it doesn’t to you. Not all things can be measured by some objective marker.

        • tcs says:

          I don’t agree with trying to rally around limiting imagery as offensive, however. What offends and hurts one person is edgy to another. Or plays on complex feelings and is therefore interesting.

Talk to me!

