50 Grades of… well, you know.

Since all the other kink bloggers are dissing “50 Shades” (and not without good reason), I thought I’d take to opportunity to up my coolness factor and not write about it.

We have some friends who are decidedly conservative, and who sometimes spare no opportunity to chide me on what they are sure will be my differing opinion on some topic at hand. So, the bait comment at dinner the other night wasn’t completely unexpected.

“So, I’ll bet you and Mrs. Edge are going to see that new movie, the 50 Shades thing, aren’t you?”

“Pffft, bunch of amateurs,” I snorted. “I’m waiting for an interesting movie to come out.”

She looked briefly at (a suddenly stonefaced) Mrs. Edge for support, found none, and back at me. Then she closed her eyes and shook her head. “Oh my God, figures you’d say something like that,” she muttered, and speared another cheese cube.

I can’t figure out if they imagine we’re much kinkier than we actually are, or if they’re so clueless about sexuality that they can’t imagine what we get up to. Mrs. Edge and I have decided that our friends probably don’t even have sex anymore, so maybe it doesn’t even matter.

Personally, I suspect that we keep getting invited to parties just so they can have someone to talk about later on.

 


I don’t know if this couple is actually kinky, but she certainly looks like she’s being protective of her property.

About Tom Allen

The Grey Geezer Dauntless defender of, um, something that needed dauntless defending. Dammit, I can't read this script without my glasses. Hey, you kids, get off my damn lawn!
This entry was posted in Culture, Sexuality & Relationships. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 50 Grades of… well, you know.

  1. hmp says:

    “Mrs. Edge and I have decided that our friends probably don’t even have sex anymore, so maybe it doesn’t even matter.” For some reason this made me laugh out loud…

    I have been putting off writing about the silly thing because I just can’t work up the inspiration. Meanwhile it was funny and a bit strange to logon to Facebook this morning and read posts by vanilla friends and family talking about how “shocking” the whole thing is. Fifty Shades of who gives a…

    • Tom Allen says:

      I get a bit irritated with my friends who look at stuff on TV and are all “OMG, that’s so freaky, who would ever do that, yadda, yadda, yadda.”

      I mean, come on. You’re 50 or 60 years old already. You live through the 70s and 80s. You haven’t seen or heard of this stuff until now? Sheesh.

  2. “I suspect we’re invited to parties so they have someone talk about later on” – I love that line! This whole post cracked me up🙂 xxx

  3. subhubphx says:

    Even though there is a clashof cultures centered around conversation of this movie, one thing is certain … people, all kinds of people are talking about the otherwise forbidden subject of power exchange in a sexual relationship. I’ve come to the conclusion that among those are against the movie for “societal morality reasons”, the more vocal against they are, the more interested in they really are. Which I think is a good thing!

Talk to me!

