Want more fun in bed? Spend more time in bed.

This may be one of those “Well, duh,” news reports, but like a lot of obvious things, it can’t hurt to repeat it:

Women who sleep more are a lot more likely to do other things in bed, according to a new study. Researchers from the University of Michigan’s Sleep and Circadian Research Laboratory tracked 171 college-age women over 14 days and found that those who got more sleep had more—and better—sex, with every extra hour of sleep raising the likelihood of having sex the next day by 14%.

I know, right? But belaboring the obvious:

“Some previous studies have hypothesized that sleep can affect hormone levels, which may cause changes in desire and arousal,” he said. “But I think overall, more research is needed in this area to identify the underlying mechanisms more confidently.”

Personally, if I don’t get my sleeps, I might think about sex, but forget about actually having the energy to do anything about it. And Mrs. Edge is definitely in need of more sleep than I am.

But this statement makes me wonder if there’s not a chicken/egg relationship:

“I think these findings suggest that taking a closer look at sleep health in women with sexual complaints is a worthwhile endeavor,” Kalmbach said, “as poor sleep may lead to sexual problems.”

Isn’t it possible that more frequent, or at least, more, err, better sex might lead to a more relaxing evening that allows you to sleep better? I know that both Mrs Edge and I have no problem dropping off after a a little romp.

Anyway, you can read the rest of the article here.

 


It’s fun to have fun in bed. And breakfast. Fun.

I do believe that this is from Contemplating the Divine

 

About Tom Allen

The Grey Geezer Dauntless defender of, um, something that needed dauntless defending. Dammit, I can't read this script without my glasses. Hey, you kids, get off my damn lawn!
This entry was posted in Sex news, Sexuality & Aging, Sexuality & Relationships and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Want more fun in bed? Spend more time in bed.

  1. Mrs Fever says:

    I may have been accused of being a grouchy bear in the morning(s) after a night of non-sleep. Possibly. Perhaps.

    But I admit nothing. 🐻

Talk to me!

