Sexual Economics

The blog “To Love, Honor, and Vacuum” has an  interesting article up today:

What’s the “Price” of Sex in Your Marriage? An Economist’s Look at Sex

I know, you read the word “economist” and started to doze off. It’s actually a light-hearted look at how there are different factors that affect how often we do (or don’t) enjoy some sexual intimacy in our relationships.

Basic economics tells us that the “price” of something is where the demand for it intersects with the supply of it. The demand for something tends to increase when the price drops, while the supply tends to decrease when the price drops.

But what determines how much of a product will actually be supplied at each point? The cost of the inputs. So if you were making ice cream, for instance, and the price of milk dropped, then the supply line would shift, and the price of ice cream would decrease.

What does this mean for sex?

It means that if the cost of sex gets too high, then you’ll have less sex.

No, no – wake up. The cost of inputs is the important part, except that maybe you know it as “how much of a bother is this going to be?”

I’m not going to inflict the article on you, but I am going to list the top ten inputs that she identified as possible issues. While this article is aimed at women, the more astute men reading this can take some cues and apply it to their own life.

1. Having a place to make love

2. Having time to make love

3. Having physical energy

4. Feeling physically well

5. Feeling emotionally replenished

6. Feeling mentally calm

7. Feeling good about your body

8. Feeling emotionally close to your husband

9. Trusting your husband

10. Enjoying your husband’s scent

The blog is mainly written for Christian wives (and there is a companion blog for the husbands ), so some of my kinkier friends (which is probably most of you) may do a little eye rolling. But I’ve seen some overlap in some areas, and I have to admit that much of the blog covers how to be more intimate in one’s marriage.

Anyhow, if you have time, look through it.

http://tolovehonorandvacuum.com/2017/02/economist-look-at-sex/


I’m thinking that somebody is going to get a much higher – or lower? – return on investment than they anticipated.

About Tom Allen

The Grey Geezer Dauntless defender of, um, something that needed dauntless defending. Dammit, I can't read this script without my glasses. Hey, you kids, get off my damn lawn!
This entry was posted in intimacy, Marriage & Relationships, Relationship, Sexuality & Relationships, Vanilla Sex and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sexual Economics

  1. Jz says:

    All of those are valid but I am particularly experienced with #8 (except without the word “husband” in use.) I’ve found that my body generally recognizes an emotional rift long before I am consciously aware of it myself. If I’d understood that sooner, I could have saved myself several relationships’ worth of unhappiness… So, yeah. Worth paying attention to, that list.

Talk to me!

