Tally me banana: Part 1

A081

The A081 looks similar to some of the Mature Metal designs.

A080

The A080 is similar to other devices on the market, but looks to be a bit more modifiable for the gearheads.

I’ve had a lot of questions from people who are curious about those really cheap Chinese made chastity devices that are sold on Ebay or the Chinese version DHGate.com. Over the last few years, I became curious, myself; I spent some time looking at the surprisingly wide variety of devices available, and two in particular caught my eye (the A080 and the A081), mainly because they seemed to be copies of those made by Mature Metal. The MM devices are custom made, or at least, made in a range of sizes that you can pick, and can be further modified by request. The Chinese devices (sold by a bewildering number of different vendors) appear to be made in two or three different sizes, and the only custom option is the size of the cuff ring (ranging from 1-1/2 to 2″).  After several weeks of deliberation, I thought it might be interesting to buy one of those devices just to see if I could modify it into something better; maybe not as nice as the custom devices, but something that is comfortable, convenient, and secure.

20160529_103726

This is the side-to-side “slop” in the hinge. While it won’t move that much while assembled, the amount of space will lead to chafing and pinching.

I ended up ordering the style called, for reasons unclear to me, the A080. The A081, while looking more like the MM design, has a distinct 90º bend between the opening and end, which I knew would be a problem.  One of my criteria for devices is that I should be able to use a urinal, and I didn’t relish the idea of fishing the the thing out of my pants, and contorting things in order to aim appropriately. The A080 is closer to 60º (similar to the CB3000), and more workable.

20160529_133037

The cage itself was surprisingly well made. It was polished, the welds were solid, and it was well cleaned, without traces of polishing compound in between the rings.

Now, I’ve had mixed success in the past ordering Chinese products, including another chastity device. But I figured that for the $27, including shipping, it wouldn’t be a major expense (like The Fort, from a few years ago).  The ordering process was simple, and the expected delivery date promised to be between May 23rd and June 25th — a rather liberal range. Surprisingly, I received it on May 27, just about 2 weeks after I ordered it. The box was plain, and there wasn’t any identification on it. I opened the box, and the device was wrapped in bubble wrap, with a small plastic wrapped box containing a brass Wolfdog padlock with 3 keys.

My first impression was that the cage section was surprisingly well made. It was highly polished, and very clean, without traces of the polishing compound between the rings. The rings themselves were smooth, and look to be machine welded stainless steel. The end of the cage is similarly clean and polished, and the small bars were fairly consistently spaced. It looks like the pieces were all assembled and welded on a mass-production fixture, and the welds themselves may have been automatic (as opposed to hand done). The tab on the top that connects the cage to the cuff ring is a thick gauge and not prone to bending or twisting. The weld here was clean and the tab is pretty straight. All in all, I was really impressed with the quality of the cage.

20160529_132825

Not everybody will have a workshop where they can make these little modifications.

The cuff ring, however, was a disappointment, especially having seen the nice work of the cage. The joint/hinge holding the two sections together are loose, allowing far too much torsion — which would translate to chafing and pinching, if they hadn’t included the bit of surgical tubing that one is expected to slide over the section to cover the hinge.

20160529_103914

The nice job on the cage section was offset by the really poor design on the cuff ring and locking pin. You can see how the head of the pin hits the flat plat that holds the cage to the cuff ring tabs.

The cuff is held together by tabs slotting into the rectangular hold in the metal tab on the cage. Naturally there is a lot of play here, as well, and the way that the locking pin holds the sections together will most assuredly pinch skin, hair, and chafe. I know this for a fact because just 30 minutes wearing it was enough for me; I removed it and started thinking about how to make it more comfortable.

Let’s start with the locking pin. The pin itself just fits into the holes in the tabs on the lock ring, and the lock fits into the hole at the end. That leaves over 1/4″ of play, and at this point I should note that the Wolfdog lock is crap. The edges and corners are literally sharp enough to cut skin. I didn’t bother filing off the edges; instead, I drilled out the 3mm hold to fit the somewhat larger shackle of my Masterlock. I added some of the spacers that I made for my CB3000 and my Fort, but it was still too jangly for me. Back to the workshop, I carefully filed a flat on the head of the locking pin to make it lay flush against the tabs. That made for less play, but I knew I could do better.

20160529_132400

I filed a flat on the head of the locking pin to make it sit more flush with the locking tab; something that most people could do if they order this or similar devices. The pin is still a sloppy fit, though, so we went back to the drawing board.

I have some extra stainless steel pins and spacers from my other devices. The locking pin was slightly larger than the one that came with the A080, and fit nicely through the tab holes, while the head just cleared the tab. I filed down a flat on a couple of the spacers to keep the device from twisting on the opposite side. Marking the length, I drilled a hole for my lock, and cut the end off and rounded it over. To keep the cage from having too much play on the cuff ring, I put a rubber O-ring against the head for pressure, pushed the pin through the holes, put on the spacer with the flat, and then another O-ring to provide some tension for the lock. Not perfect, but I ended up with a lot less play, and some testing demonstrated no pinching, which was the important thing.

20160529_132913

My final version: one of my own locking pins cut short and rounded off, with a spacer that was filed to contain the flat bar over the locking tabs. This keeps it from flopping around too much. The O-ring at the head of the pin provides some tension to keep the arrangement from making jingling sounds.

At some point I’ll look at how to attach the cage to a solid ring, because (in my opinion) the hinged rings are too prone to chafing and pinching.

20160529_104024

The Wolfdog padlock should not go anywhere near sensitive areas of your body. The edges on this one were literally sharp enough to tear the paper towel.

Having now modified the device to be wearable, I’m going to stop here and get to the stats in Part 2.

 

 


When I told her I bought another cage, Mrs Edge just rolled her eyes, and then warned me that I should make sure that it was as comfortable as possible before I handed her the key.

tumblr_o5bhwfef4t1ul1o7qo1_500

 

About Tom Allen

The Grey Geezer Dauntless defender of, um, something that needed dauntless defending. Dammit, I can't read this script without my glasses. Hey, you kids, get off my damn lawn!
This entry was posted in A080, CB3000, CB6000, chastity, Chastity Devices, Mature Metal, Metal Chastity, The Fort and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Tally me banana: Part 1

  1. Dang. That’s a lot of work to make it more usable. I’ve wondered about the locks too – but just gave in and picked up a file and rounded the corners. Can’t wait to read more about the stats. Great review!

    Like

    • Tom Allen says:

      It’s a bit of fiddling around, but if you have some decent workshop tools then it’s not all that difficult. The bigger PITA was figuring out what to do.

      Part 2 will be coming up in a few days, after I’ve had a chance to wear it day-to-day, and if necessary, fine tune some things.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Swami says:

    Great review. I purchased an A080 a couple of years ago. The cage size is generous compared to some other cheap metal cages I have purchased, which is nice for me because I have conflicting kinks. I love to pump (that thickness and hang after a session is addicting) and then I also love the idea of chastity. Small cages simply don’t work for me. Totally agree about the hinged ring and also about the clinking lock. My fix for the latter was to cut a small section of silicone tubing to slide over the locking pin to put some pressure on the lock hasp to keep it more stationary and therefore not as ‘clinky’. I wish I had a nice shop to rework things. Thank you for your work, your advice, and all the additional work it takes to put together an instructional blog post like this. Totally looking forward to part 2. 😃

    Like

  3. Lovely review. The A80 was my first working commercial chastity device. It’s surprisingly practical – easy to pee in. However the locking post causes chafing and makes it hard to bend. Also the metal caused bad chafing to my sack after a couple of days.

    However, I do like the way that the Chinese are knocking these out. Flawed though they may be, they are still – mostly – professionally made and robust. It’s also fascinating that they have serial numbers for the designs… as if there’s a place out there where these things are normal and even standard.

    I wonder what they think of us…

    Like

    • Tom Allen says:

      Giles, I’ve long been wondering about the guys who went to Chinese manufacturing shops and tried to explain chastity devices. But at the rate they are turning out both knock-offs and their own designs, it appears that the trend must be world-wide.

      Like

  4. Keep Wishing says:

    If somebody would start making a solid ring with an appropriate size tab at the top, these would be great. I’ve been wearing an A080 for months. My only complaint about the rig is the surgical tubing. It eventually stretches and rubs in various places. It’s not the end of the world and for me, it’s not worth the cost of switching to a completely custom cage. My favorite part of this design is you can easily customize the length. just use a pair of pliers to squeeze the rings together until you have the perfect length.

    Like

    • Tom Allen says:

      I was thinking about making a solid ring with a tab on the way into work this morning. I may even have a ring that I can braze a tab onto. It would be easier doing that than to try to fill up the hinge with weld or solder and then grind/buff it out.

      I did have to make a few adjustments by bending, but so far that’s been all.

      Like

  5. Jess says:

    I have several cheap steel cages and as you found there is far too much play in the sort you have, far better are the fixed rings with a rod that has flat sides at the end, a similar tube on the main cage slides onto the rod and there is zero play. Finding one of these with the best cage is another problem; I find cages similar to the A080 (a series of rings) can pinch the skin in a bad way where as cages like the A081 (bars running along your length) don’t seem to do so at all. The two I have like that each have their own issues though; one is very similar to the old CB2000 is design but the hole at the end is too large and I have managed to squeeze enough of myself through to orgasm, the other is similar but instead of bars it has stainless steel ropes and the problem with that is they can trap too much pee and start to stink, still that is my cage of choice, I just have to remember to splash water over it every time I go to the toilet.

    Like

    • Tom Allen says:

      Jess, i had worried that my skin would catch or pinch in the rings, but I’ve been pleasantly surprised to discover that is not the case.

      And I did see the style with the stainless steel cable instead of solid wire. I had the same thought, that it would be a dirt, sweat, or urine trap. Glad to see that it’s okay for you.

      Like

  6. Pingback: Comfort and Convenience, then Security – The Edge of Vanilla

  7. Pingback: Mind the Gap | The Edge of Vanilla

Talk to me!