S&M is GOOD for you

I’ve been a bit busy lately (and fighting those winter doldrums), but this headline in the UK Mail Online made me perk up

S&M is GOOD for you: Researchers say sadomasochism can lead to an ‘altered state of consciousness’ similar to meditation

Now, how can you argue with research, right? Let’s see what they have to report.

Sadomasochism can give similar results to meditation and leave people in an ‘altered state of consciousness’, new research has found.

Experts believe the practice may cause bloodflow in the brain to be altered is a way similar to a ‘runners high’ or some types of meditation.

I imagine that this isn’t limited just to BDSM play, but it’s certainly nice to know about.

The results found that people playing the pain-receiving role performed badly in a part of the brain called the dorsolateral prefrontal cortex, Ambler said.

So, after a period of good sex, you can’t function properly? How can I get some research grant money? You know, for science.


And while we’re thinking about research money, let’s imagine what we could do with it.

Enema of the State

About Tom Allen

The Grey Geezer Dauntless defender of, um, something that needed dauntless defending. Dammit, I can't read this script without my glasses. Hey, you kids, get off my damn lawn!
This entry was posted in BDSM, Sex news, Sexuality & Relationships. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to S&M is GOOD for you

  1. HMP says:

    Hi Tom:

    I never argue with research unless I disagree with it but in this case, having done extensive research on this subject myself I can only say….I AGREE I AGREE!!!!

    Glad you’re back!

    hmp

    Like

  2. Kara says:

    Finally something in the UK papers worth reading.
    That kinda explains sub drop.

    Like

Talk to me!