Back to the Future

I’ve spent most of 2018 locked in a chastity device. My time out can literally be measured in hours: a few doctors visits and a few long distance bike rides were the only times when Mrs Edge had me remove it… until, ironically enough, LOctober, in which we did a bit of international traveling,

“So, what are we going to do about that?” she asked me a few days before we had to leave.  Valuing my privacy, and knowing that we were going to be around a lot of family, I was hesitant to even pack the A272 in the luggage; I really didn’t want to have to face some European authorities to explain all the stainless steel. Fortunately, I had already given this some thought.

“Well, you could let me just run wild and free, and give me a lot of hand jobs for the next couple of weeks.”

Apparently that was the wrong answer. So, on to Plan B:

“Well, I suppose I can dust off the old plastic cage,” I told her. That ended up being a more acceptable alternative, so I dug into the back of the closet and pulled out my old CB3000.

[ Voiceover narration]

Back in the old days, before cheap Chinese devices, Mature Metal, Steelwerks, Steelworks, and various other resellers and manufacturers, there was the Miller Enterprises (now rebranded as CB-X) and their line of plastic devices, the CB2000, and the well-intentioned, but horribly executed The Curve. In the early to mid 2000s, they introduced the CB3000, an ergonomically designed device that did not look like a mish-mash of plumbing parts. The cage itself was a work of art: it was, essentially, a penis shaped spaceship. Naturally, it was so far beyond what many of us had imagined and had worked up in our garage or basement workshops, that we had to buy them.

Those old-timers who remember the early days can attest that while the device looked cool, there were issues. The hinged cuff ring pinched or chafed, both at the hinge and at the section that closed. The hinge, itself, was a nickel plated brass rivet. The riveting process often cracked the hinge, and a lot of people reported skin irritation because of the rivet. And the two piece, sonically welded construction often split at the seam, and usually catching and pinching unsuspecting guys at the worst moments.

The older style CB3000 had the locking pins pointed toward the body, and you had to be smart enough to snip them off and sand the sharp edges. Chastity device discussion groups were filled with questions, complaints, tips, and tricks. Devices were often modified with epoxy in the holes, plastic tubing around the hinge, or other fixes to make them more suitable for longer-term wear.

[ / Voiceover narration]

The night before we left, I checked the package to make sure that I had the spacers, lock (and the key!), pins, etc., and put it in my luggage to be checked. I even separated some of the components, just in case. The next morning, Mrs Edge unlocked the stainless steel A272, I took a quick shower, and we headed for the airport.

[Scene fade out, then fades in to guy wrestling with a confusing array of plastic pieces]

Okay, here’s the thing. I wore the hell out of my CB3000s. Even when guys were moving on to the newer CB6000 and some of the steel devices, for me (and for Mrs Edge) the CB3000 was still a very wearable device. Of course, over the years I’d cut, epoxied, glued, soldered, and remade a lot of different pieces, so by the time we had taken a break from chastity, it was truly a custom device. I even managed to make The Fort (a clone in cast stainless steel) wearable.

The device I took with me was all plastic, with a hinged cuff ring that I had epoxied into a one-piece unit. It also had an aftermarket KSD3 (from the KeptForHer folks) because I found that it helped to anchor things in place. I hadn’t worn it in so long that it took a few minutes to remember how everything fit together; some pieces were a bit fiddly, which I found annoying. Mrs Edge clicked the lock shut, then I got dressed, and we were off for the day.

It was interesting to remember how bulky the device was. Yes, everyone new to the kink wonders if anyone is staring at the huge package in your pants; after a couple of years with the much lower profile A272, the old CB3000 felt like I was wearing some huge contraption. Since I’m an old pro, I managed to adapt, but despite the CB3000 being half the weight of the A272 (3 oz vs 6 oz), the bulkiness made it seem more noticeable, and I was definitely more aware of wearing it.

Since the CB3000 is pretty much a solid tube style, I had to make sure that I flushed it out carefully every night. The A272 allows me to work a little soapy water into the tube, something that was more difficult with the CB3000, in part because of how I had made the spacers and the KSD3 fit together.

Another point is that the CB3000 and CB6000 have an inside diameter of 1-3/8″ (35 mm). The A272 (and similar devices) are just under 1-5/16 (33mm). You wouldn’t think you’d notice the difference, but it felt huge after I first put it on.

I have this 4 point matrix for chastity devices: Comfort, Convenience, Security, and Sexiness. After a couple of weeks back in one of my original devices, even though it had always been one of my favorites, I now found that it wasn’t as impressive as it was fifteen years ago. And this is not to say that nobody should consider buying one now; it’s probably more to do with my experience as a consumer. Wearer. Whatever.

Interestingly, Mrs Edge had some positive reactions. For one, she still likes the clear plastic, and enjoys being able to see me all scrunched up inside. Even though she acknowledges that it was annoying to have the thing break; or rather, to have me spend hours working up repairs, she does prefer a more “natural look” over the shiny stainless steel.

The other thing she noticed was that during our nightly spooning, she preferred (or at least, missed) the bulkier CB3000, mainly because the penis/spaceship design made it more bonerish (wait, is that a word?), which in turn made it seem as if I was more aroused. In reality, the A272 only has a slightly lower and more curved profile, and without the bulk of the flange, and the spacers, pins, and lock. Over the years, Mrs Edge would occasionally complain about a stray poke with some part of the CB3000 (and similarly with the CB6000 and The Fort). There haven’t been any such complaints with the A272.

Anyhow, since I had already become accustomed to wearing a device, it wasn’t that much of a difference to re-adapt to wearing the CB3000; after a few days it was back to feeling natural. And before we caught the shuttle to the airport for the trip back, Mrs Edge removed the CB3000, I took a quick shower, and packed it into the luggage for the flight home. That night, I was safely re-ensconced in stainless steel, and my old CB3000 went into its box in the back of the closet again.

This hasn’t been so much a review, more of a look back. I don’t have any new insights from having worn it again, nor were there are surprises from going back to the A272. If anything, I was happy to get back to my stainless steel device, simply because that’s now what I prefer.

I remember when the CB3000 was the wave of the future, a molded mass-produced chastity device. It was nice to take it out for a little visit, but now I’m pretty glad that I don’t need to live there.


Mrs Edge has been getting a thrill from telling me this. I’m sure it’s just fantasy talk, right?

 

About Tom Allen

The Grey Geezer Dauntless defender of, um, something that needed dauntless defending. Dammit, I can't read this script without my glasses. Hey, you kids, get off my damn lawn!
This entry was posted in A272, CB3000, CB6000, chastity, Chastity & Orgasm Denial, Chastity Devices, Mainstream Chastity, male chastity, orgasm denial, The Fort and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Back to the Future

  1. Swami says:

    Very good stroll through Chastity past. I, too prefer the stainless cages that are available now. Considering spending the dough to have a custom-made device created to my measurements. If I wore mine as much as you wear yours, I’m sure I would.
    Thanks for sharing!
    Always appreciate your insights!

    Like

Talk to me!